usolee

Bolt’s 26th Lap

Yes, I just finished my 26th lap around the sun. I am now 2 weeks deep on lap number 27. I must say, every birthday in Japan keeps getting better and better… and at the same time I keep digging myself deeper and deeper into my neighbors blacklist (pun semi-intended). The reason I named my 26th B-Day ‘Bolt’s 26th Lap’ is because recently a whole lot of Japanese people have been saying I look like the worlds fastest man, Usain Bolt. Instead of rejecting this potentially offensive label I chose to embrace it! This many people sharing this time together was the best present I could have asked for.

I invited as many friends as Mimatsu (really good restaurant in Shinasahi) would allow. Here are pictures of some of the gifts I recieved:

Kenji Cookie. I ate the 6 before this picture was taken.

Hokkaido Gourmet Tour. Basically, me and Shu went to Hokkaido to eat everything Sapporo had to offer. We came, we saw, we conquered.

In between stuffing our faces with super tasty food we hired a taxi and had our driver take us to various places in Sapporo.

Before coming to Japan I was interested in the Ainu people and culture. Going to Hokkaido and visiting an Ainu museum was one of the first things on my Japan To-Do-List so I was super happy to visit this place. Even though it’s not the main Ainu museum it is still a very interesting place to visit. I absolutely love native designs and there were a lot of Ainu designs in here. I think I’ll put up more pics in a separate post.

(more to come)

Leave a Reply

